top of page
  • Writer's pictureeddieettridge

Greatest Games of My Life #5 - Barcelona 3-0 Elche, 2014.

Summer 2014 and it was another, YES ANOTHER lads and Dads trip (just get some friends will you!) but I was 14 years old - so I think it would be a bit worrying if I was in Barcelona completely by myself. Anyway, we were in Barcelona, Spain in the hot sun and I must say, it's probably my favourite holiday destination. A big city with a sandy beach, plenty of art, high streets and of course, football.


The football match is Barcelona v Elche - played at the famous Nou Camp stadium. I was about to see one of the biggest clubs in the world play football and it was about to be right in front of my eyes.


It was a kick-off under the lights and as the sun was setting, the Nou Camp was in our sight. This is the place where Messi, Xavi, Iniesta, Ronaldo ('the' Ronaldo), Rivaldo, Eto'o etc, have all played beautiful football and won some of the greatest prizes in world football - it took me a while to let that sink in.


We took our seats, middle tier, perfect view.


Dad asked me: "What do you think?" The 14 year old me said "yeah this is alright."


This is alright my a***! First impressions of the great Camp Nou - bloody teenagers. I didn't mean to put it like that, I was probably just so blown away by it all.


Kick-off came around and the teams walked out to Barcelona's catchy Cant Del Barca song. I think the game had been going for about 10 seconds and then a cat came running onto the pitch. Yes, a cat - how on earth does a cat get into a football ground?!


After that madness, the game resumed.



Bravo, Dani Alves, Mascherano, Mathieu, Jordi Alba, Rakitic, Busquets, Iniesta, Rafinha, Munir, Messi.



Lionel Messi was actually down there in front of me. The greatest of all time - I could see him in the flesh. On the pitch, in front of my own eyes. Messi did not fail to disappoint either - the magician scored two great solo goals on the night. Every time he got the ball, he just drove forward. Running at defences like they weren't even there.


Andres Iniesta also made me realise how privileged the Barcelona fans are to watch him week in week out. The man is the passing magician along with Xavi - who didn't come off the bench that night, although Barcelona were comfortably winning this game after Munir netted the third.


FT: Barcelona 3-0 Elche.


I loved the Nou Camp. I want to to go back there. I want to watch another game there. I wish I could bloody play there! But it's a must do on your football bucket list. It's a place for beautiful football.



By Ed Ettridge







12 views0 comments
bottom of page